THE COUP @ The Independent ( 5 photos )

First off, my apologies for not having any pictures of Pam the Funkstress… my vantage point was limited and Pam was just out of range.

Taking into conseideration I havn’t seen The Coup for a few years now, I’m still amazed at how well they “bring it!”. For myself the addition of a second guitar player has pushed them over the edge from being a live hip-hop/rap band that rocks, to a band of musicians that can sonically destroy other live bands no matter what genre is being played. On a somber note the show was also a tribute to their bass player Dewey Tucker who was shot and killed on his way to rehearsal a few days before. The band pulled it together though and made the show happen. I was fortunate enough to be there and snap some photos of Boots and Silk E. with my cellphone. Editing the photos to look like illustrations just seemed more fitting, I think the colors tend to give the images a little more emotion and recreate the environment more accurately than just a photo…if thats possible.

* My favorite image being the 4th one down with Silk E. singing The Makings of You and a slideshow of Dewey Tucker being shown in the back*

Boots Riley

Silk E.

Boots From the Heart

Song for Dewey

Bringin' the Funk to the Fight

Thats what I’m talkin’ ’bout!

all photos Raymond Ruiz

About RuizSF

Musician Photographer Cashier
This entry was posted in documentation, Music & Photos, photography, San Francisco, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

